Kelly McGillis Comes Out of the Closet

Recent news reports that Top Gun actress Kelly McGillis has come out as a lesbian, finally confirming long-held rumors that have followed her for years.

By itself, this wouldn’t be so shocking to me. However, I only recently learned that Ms McGillis had been the victim of a rape back in 1982. Her attacker had been an escaped serial rapist who had gone on to commit more rapes in the years after the attack.

Curious to see if her attacker had received serious jailtime for the attack – he and an accomplise had raped McGillis and her roommate in McGillis’ apartment – I did a quick Internet search and discovered that he had recently received a 50 year sentence for raping two other women in 1996, fourteen years after his attack on McGillis. He was convicted of that rape, but since he was 15 when he committed the crime, he first was sent to a juvenile detention facility and then went to prison where he was released in 1991.

I couldn’t think of a defendant doing more harm to his own case than this one did in his most recent trial. He argued with the judge, accused the jury of having already found him guilty in the middle of the trial and even injected racism in the trial by comparing the trial to a lynching (the defendant is black) and that they would hang him if they could.

Yes, I would hang him, if I could. But, I’d hang him for being a serial rapist and not for any other reason. Notice that I didn’t mention his name in this blog, since he’s such a piece of shit that I didn’t want to include it here.

A common fear among rape victims is that their attacker will return and attack them again. Given that his received a sentence of 50 years this time, I hope that all of his previous victims can finally have some peace of mind.

As far as Kelly McGillis, I wish her the best now that she has admitted to herself her real identity. I understand that her movie career hasn’t taken-off as much as had been expected when she co-starred in Top Gun with Tom Cruise, even having to go back to waiting tables when her career foundered at one point. She also starred in The Accused with Jodie Foster and Witness with Harrison Ford, but no other big films that I know about and I don’t see her as having any lead roles in movies, with most of her work being done onstage.

The saddest thing I read in her bios is that Kelly actually believed that all the bad things that had happened to her during her life was G-d punishing her for being a lesbian. I wonder how many people live tortured lives because they believe something like that.

There was a series on Showtime, called “Queer As Folk” which I didn’t like very much and I only watched a few episodes. Overall, I thought the series was all about sex and I got very bored with it very quickly. However, there was one line that was said in the movie that I felt was very profound and I am going to repeat it here, since I think it is most appropriate:

” I think God appreciates it even more. Because He created you in His image. At least that’s what I was always taught. And since God is love and God doesn’t make mistakes, then you must be exactly the way He wants you to be. And that goes for every person, every planet, every mountain, every grain of sand, every song, every tear… and every faggot. We’re all His, Emmett. He loves us all.

Ted Schmidt, as played by actor Scott Lowell from first season episode #13,

My best wishes to Kelly McGillis in her future life and career.

signature

Tags:

Leave a Reply

